All is Said and Sun

Wow, I cannot believe we are already at the end of the semester! This class has certainly been a journey, and we learned so much together! At the beginning of this course, I was not sure what to expect, and I was nervous that it was totally out of my wheelhouse, but ASTR 2110 gave me a newfound appreciation for the world around us.

Starting at the beginning, we learned the origins of astronomy, by the end, we can conceptualize just how many other worlds are out there and if there is a possibility of life beyond us. My favorite part of the class was learning about the other planets in our solar system, especially the terrestrial worlds. Knowing that they are so close to us, but so vastly different is so fascinating! I really want to learn more about Venus in the future as we continue to explore it.

I hope you all enjoyed following along this journey with me, learning snippets of it on my blog! I really liked being able to connect what we learned in class to more personal situations, like my Superstorm post that affected my hometown about 10 years ago. If you have not had the chance to check that out you can read about it here!

I really urge you all to stay curious about what is going on beyond Earth. I know that after this class the NASA website is going to be my go-to to find out about future missions and all the amazing things they are doing! To finish, enjoy this image one of my best friends took in Ohio during totality during the Solar Eclipse; an absolutely spectacular moment that encourages us to learn about the universe beyond!

An image of Solar Eclipse totality in Ohio. Photo by: Honey Stukes

One thought on “All is Said and Sun

  1. Hi! I loved reading your blog post and think it’s great that you could find connections from our class to your personal life. I also loved learning about our Solar System’s planets the most too, but I thought the Jovian planets were incredibly interesting. I think this class put into perspective where we are located relative to the rest of the Universe. As you said, the terrestrial planets are all similar but so so different. Even though they seem to be so close together, the distances between them are way bigger than we can conceptualize, and thats why they all have such different conditions (temperatures, formation, composition). I cannot wait to learn more about our solar system in the future!

    Like

Leave a comment